Learning along the way

Daniels 6th b-day, 2015 christmas, Denver zoo 424
My family

Learning along the way has been an exciting and a challenging process. I was born in Guadalajara, Jalisco Mexico. When I was 10 years old, my mother announced, “Mayra, in two weeks we are moving to the United States.” I could not believe this words! I, Mayra a simple farm girl was going to the United States to experience a whole new life.

 

Mexicos trip January 2013 009
Back in Mexico

Sixteen years later, I am a college student and have received two Associates degrees in Education. As a small child, I played school with my cousins: of course I was the teacher. Now, I am excited about realizing my long-term goal of becoming an Elementary teacher in the lower grades.

my pics 009
Graduation from College

Having a college  degree will help me to help others and teach new material to young children. Moving to the United States has been more than an adventure—it has been a trial and satisfying accomplishments. Learning English has taken much effort and determination. Becoming accustomed to the cold winters has not been easy. However, a door to new opportunities has opened. I have found that being bilingual has helped me find a way to help others going through situations similar to mine.

Experiences in life have shaped who I am. In May 2010, I gave birth to my son Lisandro Daniel. When I had him, I was going to college. Studying, working, and raising my son by myself were some of the challenges I had to face. However, I was very fortunate to have my family and instructors who were very supportive and understanding throughout  the  school course.

my pics 056    Daniels 6th b-day, 2015 christmas, Denver zoo 347memories 001

daniel 004 068 another 3 months trip...yey summer 2012 010

 

In May 2014, my fiancée Rayon and I got married. Getting married has brought many challenges to my life. Now, it is not just me, but us. Any decision I make involves both of us. Our different cultural backgrounds can also be challenging at times, but at the same time it is very exciting getting to learn about another culture.

 

phone picture 2014 134

 

 

I have worked hard in school and have done well, even while holding down three jobs. The struggle and the triumph have made me who I am. After four years of going to college, I decided to take a break and spend more time with my son. Today, I have decided to go back and finish my Bachelors degree in Elementary Education. Once again I have to proof myself and others that I am capable of this doing this and more…


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

