Independent-Learning Project

crochet-sign

Learning to do something new is always exciting. Especially, when you get the choice to choose your own topic. After pondering on what project to work on, I have finally come to a conclusion.

crochet

crochet vido

picture

My independent-learning project will be to learn how to crochet. Growing up, I saw many woman crocheting. I have always admired their beautiful art work. But most of all, their dedication, skills, creativity and patience. This project will definitely be a challenge. It will take lots of practice and patience. It is a big difference when you see someone else do it, than when you do it yourself. So I am definitely up for a challenge. However, keeping in mind this is a project I would  love to accomplish, I will give it my best.

As a college student, person, wife and mother, it is very important for me to determine what I want to do. I want to be a positive role model for my son. By learning how to crochet, I can share the knowledge with my son and other people of the beautiful art of crochet.

Creativity is definitely a key point in crocheting. Playing around with patters, techniques, fabrics,colors, shapes, etc. can help with relaxing specially on a stressful day. After all, crochet can help with educational development while having fun. Crochet can also help with stress, relaxation, motivation, help with  focusing, and can even help through mentally tough times in some cases.

Crocheting will become a new hobby which I will enjoy while making beautiful items to keep, wear or give away. It will definitely be a very positive experience in my life. I will feel very productive while learning “through play!”

2 thoughts on “Independent-Learning Project

  1. I think crocheting will be a great Independent-Learning Project for you Mayra! It is personally something that I have always wanted to learn how to do, but I have yet to give it a go. My boyfriend can even crochet! How are you going to go about learning how to crochet? Will you buy a book, or watch videos, or read articles online? I think I would have a heck of a time if I had to try and learn how to do something hands on like that without someone right next to me to help. Best of luck to you and I can’t wait to see some of your creations!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m very excited for it too, and nervous as well. Its defenitelly something different for me. And to learn how to do it, my ex-mother in law will be showing me how to do it. I will also be watching videos for extra help. Actually, yesterday I started practicing by making chains, the first step to learning. I posted some pictures on whitter, have you seen them? I had my 5 year old son take the, that is why they are blurry…lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

