Crochet

czhfbsauuaaomz5
Picture by Mayra Pelayo

As stated on my previous post, for my semester project I decided to learn how to crochet. According to Dictionary.com, crochet is defined as, needlework consisting of the interlocking of looped stitches formed with a single thread and a hooked needle. I have never done crochet in my life, but I have seen many people working on this beautiful art, and it looks very interesting and fun, while creating  beautiful crafts such as hats, gloves, scarves, etc. For my project I decided to make a crochet hand band. And if I have enough time, I will also work on a hat.

crochet hat

I did some research previous to starting. I watched some videos on Youtube, took a look at a book, How To Crochet: A complete guide for absolute beginners by, Alison McNicol, and will get lessons by my ex-mother-in-law. From the research I have done and what I have learn so far, it looks like it will be an easy project, at least I hope so!

Below is a video from youtube on how to single crochet for beginners.

 

 

 

The book that I have been following as a guide, by McNicol, is aimed for absolute beginners, so it sure will come in handy. Especially, for me, since I have never crochet before. The pictures, illustrations, and steps are very easy to follow. The selection of projects they incorporate in this book are easy enough for beginners to make in a relatively short space of time, and they are supposed to help progress skills as I move on through the book. In this book I am showed how to do different projects from beautiful baby hats, accessories, big granny square blankets, gloves, to scarves, etc.

A great thing about crochet is that practically I only need two tools to get started; a crochet hook and yarn. Oh, and an imagination, of course! Crochet hooks come in various sizes ranging from 2 to 8 MM. In my case I am using a 5.75MM to make it easier on myself since I am a beginner. However, as McNicol states, “The size of the hook, as well as the yarn I use with it, will determine the size of the stitches it produces.”

So far everything is going well. I have been practicing on making chains. Once I have those down, I will move on to the next step.

 

Leave a Reply

