Mock Caldecott

Well, on my previous blog (on December 2nd) about caldecott awards, I forgot to mention the three books I would like to read out of the list of nominees. As I scrolled through the list, none of the books were familiar to me, however, most of them did look appealing to read!

Nominee 20- How to be an Elephant by Katherine Roy

how to be an elephant

After the watching the short video, I think this book would be a great asset to be used in a lesson plan about animals (herbivores) and the food they consume.

Nominee 14- BLUE SKY, WHITE STARS by Sarvinder Naberhaus

blue sky, white stars

This book talks about diversity in the United States

 

Nominee 4- The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken

The book of mistakes

We all makes mistakes, that is a fact. This book sounds like it would be a great reminder for the students that it is okay to make mistakes; even teachers and adults make mistakes. I like the fact that the children were able to re-read the book and the conversation/discussion between them all was even better then the first time.

Leave a comment