Thursday Quotables…

reading in the wild

I have started to read a new book, Reading in the Wild, (The book whisperer’s keys to cultivating life long reading habits) by Donalyn Miller. I chose this book to help me as a reader and future teacher to learn reading habits just like the book states. I believe that it is very important for every child to have the opportunity to learn to love reading. I hope that this book will give me ideas to practice myself and to apply to my future classroom as well.  

In regards to the meme for this week, we are supposed to highlight a great quote, line, or passage discovered during my reading each week. Whether it’s something funny, startling, gut-wrenching, or just really beautifully written.

As previously stated, I have just began reading this book and it started out with a great quote which gives the reader a lot to think about…

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”

—- Gorge R. R. Martin

 A dance with Dragons 

What I understand is that the person who reads many books will get to experience many great things reading can offer, such as: training the brain, gaining more knowledge, and most important of all, using the imagination! 

8 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables…

  1. I love this quote because it is so true. The same can be said of someone who loves to read and one who is being forced to read. I love reading, and I have gone on so many adventures and lived vicariously through so many lives even though I have never even left this country. I have learned a lot of lessons and what not to do through books that I believe they have actually make me a more knowledgable better person.

    Like

    1. Wow! It is amazing how books can transform us, or even takes us on an adventure we never thought could be possible. This is one of the many beauties of reading…

      Like

  2. Isn’t great how our imagination just runs wild? I believe it is even more incredible how books can have the power to do this! And as you say, they takes us to different parts of the world, even when we have not even left the country!

    Like

  3. This is a great quote. There are so many things in life that we won’t experience and even if reading gives a small taste of it at least we get that little bit of that experience.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed reading your post. I have never heard of this book before, but I love the quote. I felt this quote was really related to real life. I will have to try and find this book at my local library. Thank you for the reading suggestion.

    Like

  5. I have read and written about Donalyn Miller in other classes, and I think she is a great person to look to for advice as a teacher! I will definitely have to check out her book and see what I can learn from it!

    Like

Leave a comment