It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Number the stars
Photo CC by: Amazon.com

What comes to your mind when you hear the word Nazi? Does it make you think of Hitler, Germany, or maybe WWII? How would you feel if you had to run from them and constantly hide, being a prisoner in your own home and having to obey many rules. These are just a few of the many obstacles Annemarie Johansen and her Jew friend, Ellen Rosen, had to struggle through at the age of 10 in the book, Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry.

When I was in High school, I clearly remember reading the book, Anne Frank, a Jew girl who lived through WWII and kept a diary of everything she experience and saw. I really enjoyed this book and its contents. All these time I have been reading many books, but nothing similar to Anne Frank. A few day ago I visited the library and looked through many books which had won the John Newbery Medal award. I was about to check them out and instead decided to ask the librarian for books about the Holocaust. This is how I ended up choosing this book, Number the Stars. 

As I began reading the first three chapters, I knew this was the book I had been looking for. It has been super hard to put it down, and many times I have found myself going to bed at 12 or 1am reading this book. I have enjoyed this book so much, that I am practically done with it. Tonight, I plan on reading the last two chapters I have left. So keep tuned to hear what this book is all about…

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

    1. What did you think about the book? I think we learn to appreciate life more when we meet someone who has actually lived through hard times and yet, have continued their life regardless of everything they went through.

      Like

  1. Yes, you should definitely check it out. I really did enjoy it, especially, that someone out there did live all this horror and was brave enough to share it with someone else.

    Like

Leave a comment