It’s Monday! What are you reading?

These two books were great and funny. Definitely do recommend them to children in first through third grade. (Both of these books are I can read book, level 2. Which it is a reading with help and it has engaging stories, longer sentences, and language play for developing readers.) I also do recommend them to adults, it is guaranteed they will laugh because of the silly things the characters do, especially in the Amelia Bedelia book!

amelia
Photo CC: by amazon.com

Amelia Bedelia and the surprise Shower by Peggy Parish, pictures by Barbara Siebel Thomas

All the commotion started when Amelia Bedelia learned that the Rogers were going to have a surprise wedding “shower” for Alma. However, no one ever imagine that the party was going to be ruined by Amelia Bedelia because she ironically misunderstood what the Rogers ordered her to get ready. “Mrs. Rogers came in with a bunch of flowers. “‘Amelia Bedelia, she said, use the large silver bowl for the cut flowers.”‘ Instead of Amelia Bedelia putting the flowers on a silver vase, she and Alcolu, her cousin, cut the flowers into a million pieces and put them into a silver trophy. As the story goes on, many ironic circumstances continue to happen. Eventually, Alma is extremely happy with her shower!

flat stanley
Photo CC: by Harper Collins Publishers

FLAT STANLEY and the Haunted House by Jeff Brown and Lori Haskins Houran Pictures by Macky Pamintuan

This book was not as funny as the Amelia Badelia book, but it was still good. The school was having a halloween party and flat Stanley was super excited to dress up and go through the haunted house. His brother, Arthur, also goes to the halloween party dressed as a monster. All of a sudden, Stanley sees his friend, Martin, who was crying. A bully had taken his big corn candy he had won. Stanley and his brother face the bully. Read the book to find out what is going to happen…

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I loved Amelia Bedelia when I was little! My dad always hated it because he didn’t like what an “air head” Amelia was, and he said it wasn’t right to teach kids that’s okay. I don’t think he’s ever really though about the irony in the book, he just didn’t like it and was upset when we would bring it home for him to read. I have never read the second book, but it sounds good. How did you end up choosing these books for this week?

    Like

  2. Ja ja that is funny! However, I do have to agree with your dad, Amelia Bedelia is a BIG AIRHEAD! Well, I happen to read these books because my son actually brought them from school. He had been carrying them in his backpack for two weeks, so I finally decided to read them. I really enjoyed Amelia Bedelia and her silly adventures better than Flat Stanley.

    Like

  3. Well, I have to say I ended up enjoying her book as well. When I started reading it, I thought it was silly and dumb, but as I continued reading it, I realized it was actually making me laugh and definitely had an idea of the big trouble she was going to get into for doing things backwards!

    Like

Leave a comment